Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Monday, April 8, 2013

Sunday, April 7, 2013

Old Growth

This must've been a magnificent tree.

Saturday, April 6, 2013

Thursday, April 4, 2013


A window in the great room at Dragon's Lodge

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Blue Skies

The clouds came back today but nobody's complaining after the great run of sunshine we've had recently.

Monday, April 1, 2013

Saturday, March 30, 2013

Friday, March 29, 2013

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Next Season's BTUs

If you heat with wood, a stack of rounds is satisfying sight.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Monday, March 25, 2013

Ferry Line-up

Had to cross the moat today.

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Sunday Signage > X

X marks the spot. What spot, I don't know.

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Friday, March 22, 2013

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Monday, March 18, 2013

Log Dog

Quite a few boats in the trees around the island. I think Log Dog may be retired for good but one never knows for sure.

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Saturday, March 16, 2013

Shapes and Patterns

I went for a walk yesterday afternoon at Drumbeg Provincial Park. In the span of twenty minutes or so, I saw an eagle, an otter, a great blue heron, some buffleheads and other waterfowl and of course, seagulls. And these shapes and patterns in the rocks below the trail. Love that place.

Friday, March 15, 2013

Skunk Cabbage

A sure sign that spring is on the way.

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

ABC Wednesday > I is for Incandescent

This beautiful light fixture illuminates the sidewalks outside Woodfire Pizza

Global ABC

Monday, March 11, 2013

Sunday, March 10, 2013

Friday, March 8, 2013

Hot Cup of Fiction 2013

Mentor Susan Yates listens as student author Natasha Cowan Smith reads from her finished project during last night's Hot Cup of Fiction book launch at Mad Rona's. Local author Joelle Anthony has taught the four month creative writing class to Brenda Peacock's grade 6/7 class for the past three years. Thanks to ArtStarts and the PAC for this year's funding and congrats to all the young writers!

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Monday, March 4, 2013

Saturday, March 2, 2013

Blue Sky Moment

The clouds parted briefly late this afternoon resulting in one of those glorious Gabriola moments that the folks who go to Mexico every year miss out on.

Friday, March 1, 2013

Thursday, February 28, 2013


I meant to post this photo of Berry Point yesterday for ABC Wednesday (G is for...) but I got busy with multiple projects and just forgot.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Monday, February 25, 2013


Off to Nanaimo on the 10:05

Sunday, February 24, 2013

Sunday Signage > Lions At Work

From funding worthy projects to providing firewood for families in need, the Gabriola Lions Club does so much good work in the community. Thank you Lions!

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Friday, February 22, 2013

Nick's Pictures

Nick Halpin's big beautiful photographs are on display at the new clinic until April 3rd.

Eyes Wide Open website

Thursday, February 21, 2013

February 21st

Looks like we're going to have an early spring.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

ABC Wednesday > F is for Flame

Electricity and natural gas will heat a home to a comfortable temperature but nothing has the same quality of warmth as a wood stove.

Global ABC

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Cedars in the Sun

Got some rays this afternoon so we went for a walk at Elder Cedar. Nice.

Monday, February 18, 2013

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Sunday Signage > Condom Rolling Competition

Part of the opening night festivities at this year's Erotica Show at Artworks.

Saturday, February 16, 2013

The Farmer Feeds Us All

Food sovereignty was the theme of today's well-attended forum at Community Hall. Thanks to Tsiporah for organizing the event and special thanks to all the growers.