Friday, September 30, 2011

Thursday, September 29, 2011


It's always time to eat it but now is the time to plant it. This is from last year's crop at Good Earth Farm.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

Onions at Sunset

This snap is a month old now so these onions are dried and stored already.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011


Lloyd Arntzen in a quiet moment before a gig at Raspberry's Jazz Cafe

Monday, September 26, 2011

The Kovich Quartet

This gifted ensemble of young string musicians from Victoria played a fantastic concert yesterday afternoon at The Centre. If the smiles look genuine, consider that they'd just walked off stage after receiving two standing ovations from a sold-out house of delighted Gabriolans. The program included Haydn, Debussy, Shostakovich and a set of pop standards masterfully arranged by cellist Nathan Jacklin.

The Kovich Quartet
Jeremy Potts, violin
Shima Takeda, violin
Sarah Tradewell, viola
Nathan Jacklin, cello

Here's a YouTube video of the group playing Debussy at a concert this past spring.

Thanks to Lulu Performing Arts for making it happen!

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Friday, September 23, 2011

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Joelle at The Roxy

My wife Joelle giving a talk at The Roxy about Nevil Shute and his influence on her writing.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011


An unplanned portrait of my neighbour Steve: ace guitarist, recording engineer and heckuva a nice guy

Monday, September 19, 2011

Art Is The Heart

A snap from yesterday's Fall Fair

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Sunday Signage > Visitors Welcome

The tourist tide has slowed to a trickle but everyone's welcome at Paradise Island Farm.

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Kelly B

July 18, 1989-August 24, 2011

Kelly was like family and she brightened our home every single time she crossed the threshold. If you're on the island, please drop by the community hall this afternoon to remember her. The Celebration of Life begins at 1:00pm. In lieu of flowers, her family requests donations be made to three organizations that Kelly believed in:
The Gabriola Commons

Engineers Without Borders

Gabriola Health Care Foundation

A tribute in photos and music is here

Friday, September 16, 2011


Antony Holland on his way home from another trip to Vancouver

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Good News Bad News

The good news is that it's September and Gabriola is at its most bountiful. Everything is coming in in such abundance. The bad news is the abundance. SO much produce to process it's almost impossible to keep up with. But that's OK. I've not heard one single person complaining. Yes, we'll be eating well for months to come. Blessed we are.

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Art Is Everywhere

Spotted in the parking lot at Village Foods. They don't call Gabriola the Island of the Arts for nothin'

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Monday, September 12, 2011

Sunday, September 11, 2011

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Friday, September 9, 2011

House Guest

We found this little fellow (he's about the size of my thumb) under the fruit bowl on our kitchen table. You wouldn't believe how loud a sound such a small creature can make. After the photo op, we carefully relocated him back to the great outdoors from whence he came.

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

ABC Wednesday > H is for Hockey

We take our hockey pretty seriously around here (mural at the rink behind The Village)

Global ABC

Tuesday, September 6, 2011


Boat builder, gardener, volunteer and all-round nice guy

Monday, September 5, 2011

Good Apples

In the self-serve shed at Ike's orchard

Saturday, September 3, 2011

Friday, September 2, 2011