Monday, May 31, 2010

Sunday, May 30, 2010

Sunset Sailing

On the ferry in the last little bit of evening sunlight

Friday, May 28, 2010

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Art Wall

Around back at the elementary school

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Monday, May 24, 2010

Sunny Crossing

The ferry ride is only twenty minutes but Gabriola is a world apart.

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Monday, May 17, 2010

The Hat

If you live on Gabriola, chances are you recognize this silhouette.

Saturday, May 15, 2010

GIRO Time 12:47

Wednesdays and Saturdays are GIRO days. See you there.

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Restoring Harmony

I believe I've mentioned in a previous post that we have a bookstore here on the island, Page's, that specializes in titles either about Gabriola or by Gabriola authors. Today, my wife Joelle joins their ranks. Her debut novel, Restoring Harmony, was officially released this morning by The Penguin Group, NY. Do you think I might be just a little bit proud of her? You bet I am!

Wednesday, May 12, 2010


The Poetry Gabriola crowd will recognize Flash right away. Welcome home Hilary!

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Monday, May 10, 2010

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Sunday Signage > Peaceful Protest

As I reported on Tuesday, Gabriolans were very supportive of the Get Out Migration walk sponsored by Salmon Are Sacred. A sizable Gabriola contingent went down to Victoria yesterday to take part in the largest environmental rally ever held in British Columbia. More than 5,000 people gathered on the steps of Parliament to demand an end to commercial salmon farming in BC waters. You can view a slideshow of the event HERE. And a story in The Globe And Mail may be found HERE. If you live in BC, please consider writing to your elected representatives to demand that they pass legislation to outlaw open-net fish farms in our waters.

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Friday, May 7, 2010

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Salmon Are Sacred

Commercial salmon farming has a hugely negative impact on wild fish stock on the British Columbia coast. Alexandra Morton has made it her life's work to bring attention to this government-endorsed activity and she's walking the length of Vancouver Island all the way to Victoria to challenge the politicos to do the right thing and put a stop to it. She came to Gabriola this afternoon and was met at the ferry terminal by a large and enthusiastic crowd, almost all of whom were wearing funny hats, yours truly included. We all walked up the hill to Agi Hall where Ms. Morton gave an inspiring talk to thunderous applause. And tomorrow morning there's a parade complete with marching band and all the kids from the elementary school. Good old fashioned activism is very much alive and well here on Gabriola.

Monday, May 3, 2010

Saturday, May 1, 2010